Human Resources

Greenville is a vibrant and dynamic city, on the forefront of economic growth and innovation, urban development, arts, and entertainment. Our employees play a vital role not only in making our City what it is today, but also in shaping its future. The City employs over 900 individuals in a diverse array of services.


Duties & Responsibilities


The Human Resources Department is responsible for:
  • Compensation and classification
  • Employee awards and recognition
  • Employee benefits
  • Employee development
  • Health and wellness
  • Job opportunities
  • Supervisory and leadership development training programs

Mission Statement


Our mission is to:
  • Recruit, develop, and retain a diversified workforce of skilled, competent employees
  • Provide attractive compensation and benefits
  • Cultivate an organizational culture that ensures a safe and healthy work environment
  • Promote employee wellness
  • Apply Human Resources policies and practices in an ethical, consistent, and respectful manner

2018 City Holidays

New Years Day 

First Day of January: Monday, Jan. 1, 2018


Martin Luther King Day 

Third Monday in January: Monday, Jan. 15, 2018


President's Day

Third Monday in February: Monday, Feb. 19, 2018


Memorial Day 

Last Monday of May: Monday, May 28, 2018


Independence Day 

Fourth Day of July: Wednesday, July 4, 2018


Labor Day 

First Monday in September: Monday, Sept. 3, 2018


Thanksgiving

Fourth Thursday in November: Thursday, Nov. 22, 2018


Day after Thanksgiving 

Fourth Friday of November: Friday, Nov. 23, 2018


Christmas Eve

Twenty-fourth day of December: Monday, Dec. 24, 2018


Christmas Day 

Twenty-fifth Day of December: Tuesday, Dec. 25, 2018